Independent Living Skills Program (for foster youth 18+)

The Independent Living Skills Program is state-funded and works as an extension of the educational support offered at VOICES Sonoma. You do not have to be enrolled at SRJC to participate in any of the workshops or events, just be ILP eligible and 18+. PLEASE EMAIL NICK TO RSVP FOR A WORKSHOP OR EVENT: nlawrence@santarosa.edu

All workshops meet from 12:00-3:00 in the Call Child Development Center. When going off campus, meet in the Call Center parking lot. LUNCH INCLUDED!!!

Workshops:
Friday, August 25             Imagine You: Create Your Best Health Ever!
Friday, September 29       How to make financial aid last all year
Friday, October 27           Campus visit to Sonoma State University
Friday, November 17       Hike at Howarth Park
Friday, December 15        Holiday Party sponsored by SRJC Allies
Friday, January 26            Imagine You: follow up and reset
Friday, February 23          Career Fair @ SRJC just for you!!
Friday, March 30              Budgeting and Managing your Credit
Friday, April 26                Campus visit to UC Berkeley
Friday, May 18                 Imagine You: Did my health improve?

Events: (age 14 an up)

Skills Day: Saturday, October 21
Come show off your cooking, ironing, automotive skills and more! Compete in the “Iron-Off” to win cash and prizes! First prize $250!! Located in the Student Activity Center in Bertolini Hall, Time TBA

Independent City: a Saturday TBA in Spring 2018
Come practice adult living for a day! Practice renting an apartment, depositing checks, buying a vehicle, etc. Located in the Student Activity Center in Bertolini Hall, Time TBA

Our Modules:

Health and Wellness
Education
Employment
Financial Literacy

Our Partners
Integrative Medical Clinic: “Imagine You Workshops”
CASA
Exchange Bank
Sonoma State University
UC Berkeley
SRJC Allies and more….

 

Helpful forms for college-aged foster youth: